Home > Uncategorized > Comfort Food: Sweet Potato Turkey Pot Pie

Comfort Food: Sweet Potato Turkey Pot Pie

US Thanksgiving is only a week away. Do you know what you are doing with your leftover turkey? Fall is my favorite time of year and Thanksgiving Dinner is the ultimate comfort food, but it does get old after a few days.

My favorite way to use leftover turkey is in a pot pie. I’d made a couple of turkey breasts for bunco a few weeks ago and froze the leftovers for future pot pie yumminess. Today’s last minute discovery was that I’d used all of the potatoes on Roasted Veggie Night, so sweet potatoes saved the dish.

I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of it before. While living in Israel last year we had sweet potatoes all the time in restaurants and at home. One of our favorite restaurants added them to Massaman Curry. It was wonderful.

So here is my recipe for Sweet Potato Turkey Pot Pie. If you aren’t crazy about sweet potatoes, just sub white ones. Disclaimer: I rarely measure things when I cook unless I’m baking. I’m guessing at amounts here, mostly, I just add until it looks right. I encourage you to do the same if it doesn’t look right.

Sweet Potato Turkey Pot Pie
(Feeds 3-4)

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 cup diced sweet potatoes
1/2 cup sliced baby carrots
1/4 to 1/2 cup white wine
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 package Trader Joe’s Condensed Cream of Portabella soup (or sub any Condensed Cream of Mushroom soup)
1.5 cups cooked, cubed turkey
Garlic sea salt
Fresh ground pepper
Cooking spray
1 tube crescent rolls

Process:
Heat oil to med high. Add sweet potatoes and carrots. Saute, stirring occasionally until tender. Add white wine, peas, corn, soup and turkey. Add garlic sea salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, then lower to a simmer for five minutes.

Set oven to 350F (177C) and spray a baking dish with cooking spray. Transfer yummy, bubbly mixture to the baking dish, arrange crescent roll dough flat over the surface. Bake for ~15-20 minutes, until crust is cooked through and golden brown on top. When I use my toaster oven I cover the dish with foil for about five minutes to prevent over-browning.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

