Home > Uncategorized > An Electrical Socket Made Me Cry

An Electrical Socket Made Me Cry

What do you get when you mix a sleepless 10 hour flight, a mom whose patience has completely run out, an apartment that fell a bit below expectations, and a European outlet adapter that won’t fit into the Israeli socket when you need to dry your hair NOW?

A world-class temper tantrum. Complete with tears. Thrown by yours truly.

It was the “straw the broke the camel’s back.” What an apt metaphor. Isn’t it amazing how something small becomes so magnified when your defenses are weakened? These are the times when you need a bit of distance. I call it “stepping back from the Seurat.” For those who have yet to take Art Appreciation 101: George Seurat was an Impressionist who developed a technique called Pointillism. He used dots of color to create a scene—much like a dot matrix printer, only with paint. If you focus too closely on a Seurat, you only see dots of color. When you step back from the Seurat you see the bigger picture.

The tantrum felt like this:

Stepping back feels more like this:

Sometimes good friends can really help with this. Thanks Elodie and Jeremy for making us dinner, letting me vent, placing me on your balcony with a drink to watch the sun set, and helping me realize I needed to step back. ❤

  1. bairbutte
    September 8, 2011 at 19:35

    Hugs! 🙂

  2. Kati Kelly
    September 8, 2011 at 20:07

    Yes, that is a common affliction in international relocation. I once fell completely apart on a gendarme in Paris because I rented a car at the Orly Airport which ended up with flat tire by the side of a very busy and aggressive intersection. French people were yelling at me, and although I speak very competent French, in that moment I was so fried that I couldn’t have gotten a cup of coffee. The poor man… Parisians are known to be rude, but he was very kind. He and some random guy on a bicycle changed the tire, gently pried my phone from my hand, called the car rental company for me, and arranged for them to meet me right there and bring another car.

    A memorable exchange:
    “Madame, does you speak no French? I sink iz bad for you driving, eef you can read no signs.”
    “No, it’s alright, I speak French.” (switches to French)
    “Oh, good. Are you having a terrible day? You seem very exhausted.”
    “Well, I just flew from California to Paris, and I spent the night on the floor at JFK Airport due to ice. I’m sorry I’m such a mess, thank you for your help, I’m just worn very thin.”
    “May I make a suggestion, madame?”
    “Yes, please.”
    “You should go straight back to the airport, return this car, buy a train ticket, and get drunk. We French pay a fortune in taxes for public transportation, and I feel it might be safer for you, and for France, if you just take public transportation until you get some sleep.”

    See? A whole new type of French derision. Big hugs, lady. It WILL get easier. You are in for a rough week, or two, but you’ll get it sorted out.

    ❤ Kati

  3. September 9, 2011 at 00:06

    Thanks guys… I would make a horrible Secretary of State. How does Hilary keep her cool while jet lagged?

  4. bhharkins1
    September 9, 2011 at 04:40

    Glad to hear there was a semi happy end to the story and as for you as Secretary of State… I’d say it’s easier ( travel wise) than what a real trooper like you normally would get and if she had your day… somebody would get fired! (= Hang tough and keep taking that step back.
    ( But also check behind you first for tricksters on all 4 at about knee level)

  1. October 8, 2011 at 19:28

Leave a Reply

