Home > Uncategorized > Fun With Appliances

Fun With Appliances

It took three loads of laundry, but I think I know how to use my washer now. I can only run it successfully  on one cycle, but it seems to work. (Ed.–I was wrong, I’m still completely clueless. My washer just ran for 3 hours while I was gone and I don’t know why. What a ridiculous waste of water.) If anyone out there has a washer like this, I welcome tips on how to use it. Our relocation assistant told me how to use it yesterday, but I was severely sleep-deprived. She also drove us around the area, showing us where to find a grocery store, post office, appliance stores. I remember very little of it. Her attempt at an orientation resulted in some major disorientation on my part.

We take so much for granted in the everyday things we are accustomed to using. I used the oven for the first time today and for a moment wondered why it only went up to 250 degrees. Then I shouted to Stace to get me a conversion for 350F = nC. It’s 175C in case you ever need it.

I also love that the German clothes dryer has a setting called “Summer.” Anyone want to enlighten me on that one? I can’t wait to buy a blender!

  1. Denise
    September 9, 2011 at 15:06

    Wow, good luck! Looks like you have numerous options.

  2. Susan
    September 9, 2011 at 18:07

    I think I’ve got the icons figured out — you can wash ducks, you can wash when it snows, you can take a shower, you can do delicate panties and ET’s clothes, and I think you can probably use it to perform simple science experiments.

    Good luck with the blender. 🙂

  3. Erica Bradford
    September 9, 2011 at 18:09

    What the????? It appears to be in english but I have no idea what any of that means. Best of luck to you and your new appliances.
    EB

  4. Fara
    September 10, 2011 at 02:06

    Yeah! Blender! So summertime setting would be maragarita or daquarri flavored! 😉

    A few of those should help with working the other appliances!

  5. September 10, 2011 at 03:51

    My best guesses: On the dial, upper left quadrant is your spin cycles. From 12 o’clock backwards you have something like drain only, then light spin, average spin, and intense spin? From 9 o’clock backwards you have your delicate cycles — handwash at 30 or 40degrees, then wool at cold(?) or 40 degrees. I have no idea what the next thing is.
    From 12 o’clock forward, that may be sanitize or steam? Then from 3 o’clock down you have regular wash cycles at different temperatures (never use 95 degrees on anything but white cottons, your clothes will never be the same, we tried it in France once and were sorry.) Then finally at the bottom that 30degree feather is a cold gentle load.
    The two buttons on the left look like 1/2 load and no spin. The two buttons on the right look like delay start and (with the green light on) start. I can’t even guess what those icons at the top are.
    I’m enjoying your blog posts!

  6. Sarah
    September 12, 2011 at 21:24

    Feather? I want a feather on my washer! Does that mean it makes your clothes incredibly soft? I hope all is well! I missed you yesterday…..but I am glad you are having such a grand adventure! I’ll keep bench 10 warm while you are gone….

    • September 12, 2011 at 21:43

      Ah, thanks Sarah. 🙂 I really missed you guys this weekend. I have my first of two practices with my women’s team in Tel Aviv on Friday. I can’t wait! I’ll post some pics. I wonder how you say, “Paddles up, prepare to start, attention please, GOOOOOO!” in Hebrew?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

