Home > Uncategorized > Israel Dragon Boat Championship

Israel Dragon Boat Championship

I have ten new sisters. Their names are Merion, Chen, Raz, Orly, Miri R., Miri S., Michal, Tiv, Sarah, and Dana. These are remarkable women who came together as a rag-tag team. Only 3 of us had ever paddled a dragon boat before. In just two practices we were able to keep time fairly well. Together as the Dragon Angels, we won the gold medal in the Women’s Division of the first Israel Dragon Boat Championship at Daniel Rowing Centre (DRC) today. VIDEO

My friends know what a passion I have for dragon boating. I only started this spring, but I’m 100% in love. I couldn’t turn down the opportunity to go to Israel, but it broke my heart to miss the Portland and San Francisco races with my team in the US, the Anniemaniacs.

I contacted DRC weeks before we left to see if I could find a team to paddle with. Dragon boating is so new in Israel that they didn’t really have established teams that practice regularly. Nava at DRC told me about the Festival and Championship. It was happening just two weeks after I was to arrive in Israel.  Thanks to her guidance, translations, and kind heart I was able to race today.

I never would have survived the first practice without Raz. She is also an experienced dragon boat paddler. She paddled in Singapore, where dragon boat is basically a religious experience. The practices were run in Hebrew.  Since I only know a couple dozen w

ords and phrases so far, it was pretty stressful for me. Talk about full immersion! Raz translated instructions on the fly and even translated/transliterated the calls and the team emails for me. She is a rock star!

For those from the dragon boat world, you will be amazed to know that every race ran on time. They said the festival would end at 2:00 and it was over by 1:45. Israelis can be incredibly efficient. This is also very impressive considering this was their first festival at the centre.

I wore my medal to lunch with Stace and our friends Bob and Fara (also expats and part of our “Israel Family). I was stopped by a guy who asked about my medal. We ended up having mutual friends on the Haifa Lions dragon boat team (who I hope to paddle with in May on the Sea of Galilee if we are still here). Israel is such a small world!

Below is a Google translation of this post. I can’t vouch for it’s accuracy.

יש לי עשרה אחיות חדשות. שמותיהם Merion, חן, רז, אורלי, מירי ר ‘, ס’ מירי, מיכל, טיב, שרה, דנה. אלו הן נשים מדהים שבא יחד כצוות סמרטוט-תג. רק 3 מאיתנו היה פעם סירה וחתרו דרקון לפני. ב רק שני אימונים הצלחנו לשמור על זמן טוב למדי. יחד כמו המלאכים הדרקון, זכינו במדליית זהב חטיבת הנשים של אליפות הספינה הראשונה הדרקון ישראל במרכז דניאל לחתירה (DRC) היום.החברים שלי יודעים מה יש לי תשוקה עבור שיט הדרקון. אני רק החלה באביב הזה, אבל אני 100% אהבה. לא יכולתי לסרב לה הזדמנות לנסוע לישראל, אבל זה שבר לי את הלב להחמיץ את פורטלנד וסן פרנסיסקו גזעים עם הצוות שלי בארצות הברית, Anniemaniacs.יצרתי קשר עם DRC שבועות לפני שעזבנו כדי לראות אם אני יכול למצוא צוות לחתור עם.הדרקון שיט הוא כל כך חדש בישראל כי הם לא באמת הקימו צוותים להתאמן באופן סדיר. נאוה ב DRC סיפר לי על פסטיבל ועל האליפות. זה קורה רק שבועיים אחרי שהייתי להגיע לישראל.בזכות ההדרכה שלה, תרגומים, והלב סוג הצלחתי במירוץ היום.אני אף פעם לא היה שורד את הפרקטיקה הראשונה בלי רז. היא גם מנוסה השייט בסירה הדרקון. היא חתרה בסינגפור, שם הסירה הדרקון הוא בעצם חוויה דתית. פרקטיקות היו לרוץ עברית. מאז אני יודע רק כמה עשרותords וביטויים עד כה, זה היה די מלחיץ עבורי. מדברים על טבילה מלא! רז מתורגם ההוראות על לטוס ותורגם גם / בתעתיק קורא מיילים ואת צוות בשבילי. היא כוכבת רוק!לאלו מן העולם סירה דרקון, אתה תופתע לדעת כי כל גזע רץ על הזמן. הם אמרו הפסטיבל יסתיים בשעה 02:00 וזה היה על ידי 01:45. הישראלים יכולים להיות יעיל להפליא. זה גם מרשים מאוד בהתחשב שזה היה הפסטיבל הראשון שלהם במרכז.לבשתי מדליה שלי לארוחת צהריים עם סטייס ובוב חברינו פרא (גם לגולים וחלק משפחה “ישראל שלנו). עצר אותי בחור ושאל על המדליה שלי. אנחנו בסופו של דבר שיש חברים משותפים על צוות האריות דרקון סירה חיפה (אשר אני מקווה ההנעה עם מאי על הכנרת אם אנחנו עדיין כאן). ישראל היא כמו עולם קטן!

  1. bairbutte
    September 23, 2011 at 15:44

    Wow! It’s amazing what a good team can do! Great job!

  2. Sarah
    September 23, 2011 at 16:28

    How cool would it be to race on the Sea of Galilee….

  3. William Harkins
    September 23, 2011 at 18:24

    Great Tracy! I am glad that you are having such a good time. I really enjoyed seeing you and talking with you the other night. How is Liam?

    I love you,

    Dad

  4. September 24, 2011 at 06:29

    Liam is good. I’m checking out some schools for him on Sunday, so I’ll have an update then,

  5. Susan
    September 26, 2011 at 22:51

    Tracy, is your work week Sun through Thur or Mon through Fri?

    • September 27, 2011 at 05:04

      @Susan: The Israeli work week is Sun-Thur and kids are in school for a half day on Friday.
      The American Embassy and American International School are on a Mon-Fri week, so our family has been a little mixed up. I’m actually looking forward to getting Liam in an Israeli school so our schedules are the same.

  6. Phoebe
    October 3, 2011 at 21:33

    way to represent Portland DBR Tracy!! Glad to see you’re truly engaging in the culture over there, how exciting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

