Home > Uncategorized > The Lazy Housekeeper vs. The Ants

The Lazy Housekeeper vs. The Ants

I think this is what the queen pictures when the scouts describe my apartment.

Liam has been eating granola bars all over the apartment. We’ve had quite the struggle over staying at the table with food. Now we have ants.

They are coming in through the laundry room and carrying granola back out, one oat at a time. The Lazy Housekeeper has morphed into The Obsessive Thrice-a-Day Scrubber.

Trying to buy bug killer in a foriegn language is frightening. The only bottle that even pictures an ant apparently kills EVERYTHING. Even the assurances of the nice lady at the grocery store that it was safe wasn’t enough to calm my fears because I can’t read the instructions. She couldn’t tell me if it would kill the queen or not… I don’t think she understood what I was asking.

I really wanted to use that old Borax hack, but no one seems to sell boric acid powder in Israel. It might be one of those things where it’s just not in an intuitive spot. (For example, cake and brownie mixes are not in the same isle as flour and oil. They are in the sweets isle.) If anyone knows where to find it I’m all ears. Until then I’m scrubbing my surfaces and floors with vinegar + water three times a day.

FYI: The alcohol + dish detergent + water trick does not work here because it dries up too fast. It will kill the ants on contact while wet, but it won’t act as a deterent once it’s dry. The water + vinegar is a better deterent, but only lasts half a day.

  1. William Harkins
    October 1, 2011 at 15:24

    Tracy,

    See if you can find TERRO Liquid Ant Killer it works.Your little friends will love it and take it back to their queen.

    Dad

  2. October 1, 2011 at 16:19

    I haven’t seen Terro. I know that it’s pretty much Borax and sugar. I might have luck at Teva, the natural foods market. They’ve been closed since Wed for Rosh Hashana, so I can try tomorrow.

  3. Sue
    October 1, 2011 at 16:24

    Try sprinkling cinnamon where they’re coming in. It worked wonders in our sandbox.

  4. October 5, 2011 at 08:45

    Where is the Terro when you need it! šŸ˜‰

  5. October 5, 2011 at 08:47

    I found a silverfish in our stuff and now I think I am going to go buy the ingredients to run the dishwasher.. Cause I want to scald anything it may have came in contact with.. šŸ˜‰ What would waste more water?? Me or the dishwasher?? šŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

