Home > Uncategorized > First Haircut in Israel

First Haircut in Israel

I have this wonderful Maya Angelou quote in my email sig: “Ask for what you want and be prepared to get it.” It in no way applies to getting a haircut in Israel.

Having worked with Israelis, I know they will listen to you, nod, say OK, then do something wonderful… even if it’s not exactly what you agreed on. This in every way applies to getting a haircut in Israel.

I tend to zone out when I’m getting my hair done. I get sleepy when they wash my hair then I close my eyes during the cut to keep little hairs out. When I “woke up” I realized that my new best friend Itzak did not follow my instructions. I had a brand new style. I panicked for a moment, almost cried, then realized it actually looked great, but my bangs were still too long. I asked if he could cut them some more. It went like this:

Me: It’s still too long, can you cut my bangs shorter?

Itzak: (Squints eyes, shakes head) No. Eez beau-ti-ful deez way.

Me: Seriously, my hair grows fast. It will be poking me in the eyes in two weeks.

Itzak: OK, (shrugs)  just a leedle bit. (Pretends to cut my bangs) How does it look now?

Me: The same.

Itzak: Eez beau-ti-ful. (shrugs)

Well, I have a sexy new style and it only cost me  160 (~US$42) which is basically what I would pay in the US. It wasn’t quite like this, but there was great music, and he did make me silky smooth.

  1. Roby Wayne
    October 3, 2011 at 14:27

    I am disappointed that there is not a picture of the new do posted along side this blog entry. *Sigh*.

    • October 3, 2011 at 14:34

      I’ll update my profile pic on facebook soon… stay tuned.

      • Roby Wayne
        October 3, 2011 at 19:26

        On pins and needles.

  2. bairbutte
    October 3, 2011 at 15:42

    So when I first opened the email, I could only see the top of Zohan’s head and thought that was your new do! 🙂

  3. Fara
    October 3, 2011 at 15:44

    If u ever quit u’r day job u could do stand up comedy! Thanks for the laugh! Bob said I need to see Zohan… So I will really understand the photo! Heck I thought it was perfect w/o the movie!

  4. bairbutte
    October 3, 2011 at 15:44

    Did you crack up the entire time thinking about Zohan, I did when I read your post! 🙂

    • October 3, 2011 at 17:38

      Yeah, pretty much. I kept thinking “Disco, disco, good, good!” I could see Liam dancing in the mirror the whole time. the guys were awesome though. They offered Liam candy and me tea. I cracked up because as the assistant went off to make my tea I noticed a bunch of bottles of hard liquor and shot glasses. It was only 10:30, so I guess it was a bit early for that. Can’t believe I forgot to include that in the post!

  5. Jenny hauser
    October 3, 2011 at 15:57

    Tracy,

    I’m so happy I got to read this 🙂 when you come back I will be at a new location and now I am renting out my own studio at sola salon. I can’t wait for you to get back and hear about all your adventures! Don’t loose my number! 503-929-5811 🙂
    Good luck!!

  6. Kristi
    October 3, 2011 at 16:20

    I think my mother is Israeli.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

