Home > Uncategorized > Guilty Pleasure

Guilty Pleasure

So, it’s not like I’ve never had Nutella before. I’ve had it for years in the US. There is just something about how much of it there is in Israel. I was told not to expect to find peanut butter in Israel. I have actually found peanut butter at Tiv Taam  and Teva (טבע) near BIG Poleg in Netanya. I think even Super Sol  has it. What is interesting is the ratio of peanut butter to Nutella on the shelves.

As the charts show below, in the US you could expect to find numerous brands of peanut butter and there might be five or six jars of Nutella. In Israel, it’s pretty much the opposite. And Nutella comes in GIANT jars here.  My favorite new guilty pleasure is to eat a big spoonful right out of the jar… then clean the spoon and eat another. We (and by “we” I mean mostly I) just wiped out our second big jar since we got here in early September 2011. All I can say is, it’s a good thing the gym is only a block from my apartment.

Check out these Nutella recipes on foodgawker. I may never leave the kitchen.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. October 23, 2011 at 11:50

    Even as a non-consumer of peanut butter or Nutella, the tiny PB jars and giant Nutella containers are still disconcerting. I’ve also noticed this inverse correlation between products when it comes to olive oil in Israel vs. soy sauce in Japan vs. ketchup in the U.S. You can certainly tell a lot about a country by the condiments on supermarket shelves.

    • October 23, 2011 at 13:38

      Well put Katie. I’ve heard you can also get giant Nutella at Costco back home. I think I’m going to be a lifetime user.

  2. Kristi
    October 24, 2011 at 03:35

    Oh. My. God! That website! Those recipes! I luuuurrrrvvvvve Nutella! And of course, since peanut butter makes my stomach hurt, I wouldn’t miss it a bit. 🙂

    Just stocked up on Nutella at Costco last week. It’s SO cheap there!

    Miss you. 😦

  3. Chris Schardein
    October 30, 2011 at 23:18

    Since I read this I have found Nutelle on sale this week at Meijers – so I’m going to get it and see how it is. Maybe Kate will like it took for breakfast!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

