Home > Uncategorized > Trick-or-Treating in Israel

Trick-or-Treating in Israel

Israelis don’t celebrate Halloween, but I think we met a few last night who wish they did. The American Embassy and the American International School sponsored a Trick-or-Treat/Trunk-n-Treat event on Shalva Street in Herzliya Pituach last night. Many of the embassy employees live near there and they put on a great show.

The house at the start of the street had a Rocky Horror Picture Show theme going–complete with the sweet transvestite himself! They were actually projecting the film with a laptop from the street and encouraging audience participation. I did an impromptu Time Warp with Dr. Frank N. Furter.

Liam went as Darth Vader. I bought his costume from a children’s resale shop in August just before we came to Israel. I found myself wishing we’d bought that red light saber at Target (on sale no less) before we left. I was worried about packing it. After trips to 4 different toy stores In Israel and still not finding one, I happened to notice that the silver-tone flashlights we brought with us look quite a bit like light saber handles. Hmmm… I started playing around with that idea. Stace approved, saying “(As kids) we always used flashlights as light sabers.” But you know me, I had to find a way to make it perfect–and it hit me. When trying to buy colored art paper at Office Depot, I accidentally ended up with thick, semitransparent plastic sheets. There were red ones! I raced to the art supplies drawer to get them, wrapped one around the flashlight, applied gobs of Scotch tape, and abbra-kadabbra–a light saber! (I made a blue one for Stace too.) Unfortunately, it’s hard to capture them in all their glory when you use a flash.

  1. Roby Wayne
    October 30, 2011 at 11:38

    I always love your posts ;-). Looks like you guys had an amazing time.

  2. Denise
    October 30, 2011 at 14:14

    the light sabers are great!

  3. October 30, 2011 at 20:33

    Fantastic job on the light sabers and I’m glad Liam didn’t have to miss out on the Halloween celebration.

  4. Chris Schardein
    October 30, 2011 at 23:13

    Maybe Liam will get his Halloween card from us sometime next week. I sent it with your other mail to the Oregon address. let me know how long that took. That will determine if I send anything else there or directly to you. Leave it to you to think of a way to get the “perfect” way done in great fashion! He really looks cute in his outfit. Happy Halloween tomorrow!
    Mom

  5. October 31, 2011 at 10:10

    Hi! thanks for your post! a couple years ago i saw small groups of trick or treaters in Herzliya Pituach on halloween. I think that perhaps there was a list of houses participating. We’re american and my mom lives in the neighborhood. She’d be happy to give out candy. do you know if there is anything going on that we could join? Tonight is halloween! i tried calling the embassy but there was no answer.

  6. October 31, 2011 at 11:17

    Hi Annette. The event was for Saturday night only on Shalva Street.. I’m not aware of anything happening tonight. You could try calling the American International School in Evan Yehuda at 9-890-1000. They might be able to put you on the list for next year. I think they limit it to Shalva and its cross streets so the kids don’t have to go far. Volunteers help with traffic control, so they have to keep it localized. If you don’t live on Shalva you could bring your car for Trunk-N-Treating.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

