Home > Uncategorized > Going To the Movies

Going To the Movies

The movie theater was actually the last place I expected to be surprised. I saw a movie while I was in Malaysia and it was pretty much the same experience as the US. However, Israeli movie theaters (at least the one I visited) held two really pleasant surprises.

Our nanny, Tami, helped us order the movie tickets online (talking me through the Hebrew form) so we wouldn’t have to worry about getting there and finding a line or discovering our showing was sold out. It was pretty much the same deal as using Fandango, except you did it directly through the theater chain.

Surprise #1: Assigned Seating

Not only can you order your tickets early, but you get to choose your seats in the theater–just like ordering airline tickets! The only catch is that you can’t leave an empty seat between your party and the reserved seats near you. We still got center row for The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  Score!

Surprise #2: Intermission

About an hour in, the film it abruptly stopped during the scene with her new guardian–right in the middle of the first bad thing. The lights come up and about a dozen people (mostly women) pop up out of their seats and trot toward the exit. Confused, I turn to my other American friends and ask, “Intermission?” To which one of them replies, “Looks like it.” To which I rejoice saying, “Pee break! I’ll take it!” and trotted off to the exit. I had been squirming a bit, determined not to leave unless I posed a real threat to those around me. What a relief!

My only complaint, of course, is that I wish they could do the intermission between scenes. I managed to survive though, and I heartily approve of Assigned Seating and Intermission.

  1. bairbutte
    January 7, 2012 at 17:15

    soooo love the idea of intermission! Especially since movies are getting longer and longer!

  2. William H Harkins
    January 7, 2012 at 20:56

    Hi Tracy! HAPPY NEW YEAR! How long till you all come home?

    Love

    Dad

  3. Chris Schardein
    January 8, 2012 at 23:58

    You will find as you get (ummmm) older, that pee breaks will come more and more often! Maybe you should mention this to the American moviehouses?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

