Home > Uncategorized > Dragon Boat Racing on the Sea of Galilee

Dragon Boat Racing on the Sea of Galilee

Lake Kinneret (aka the Sea of Galilee) was the backdrop for Dragon Boat Israel’s first official event this weekend. It was a mini-regatta and kind of a test-run for the Israel Dragon Boat Festival in May 2012.

I paddled with an amazing team of breast cancer survivors. We’ve been training all winter to prepare for the Israel Dragon Boat Festival.

We finished second overall. Since our family will be returning to the States before the May festival, my teammates talked the organizer into giving me an honorary medal for helping to develop the team. It was a wonderful surprise. I’m going to miss them so much!

Liam came with Stace and my parents. We spent the entire weekend in the North seeing Tiberias and Rosh Pina, then Rosh Hanikra and Haifa on the way home.

  1. Denise
    March 20, 2012 at 14:08

    How wonderful!

  2. Judi
    March 20, 2012 at 16:46

    Way to go Tracy. Keep up the good work. G-d give you strength to continue the battle against Breast Cancer.

    • March 20, 2012 at 16:50

      Hi Judy. Thanks for the well wishes, but I should clarify that I am not a breast cancer survivor. These ladies were kind enough to take me on and let me paddle with them during my time in Israel.

  3. March 23, 2012 at 01:26

    Hi Tracy – great photos! I manage the DBI Israel website and I’m going to link to your post, but what I’d really love is to use the close-up of the medal on our site. Would that be okay?

    I’m sorry you won’t be able to make it to the festival in May, but at least you got to paddle in the very first dragon boat race ever on the Kinneret!

    • March 23, 2012 at 06:12

      Sure Nicola… go ahead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

