Home > Uncategorized > Hydrangea Inspiration

Hydrangea Inspiration

Hydrangeas are my favorite flower. They are always in bloom on my birthday, they make great easy bouquets, and they are pretty low maintenance. They also remind me of special times and places. Below are the hydrangeas that make my summer.

Blue hydrangeas in my lightship-style basket always remind me of Nantucket.

The blue ones come from my neighbor Alison’s yard. She has this incredible “Endless Summer” blue that just blooms and blooms.

These start out white and mature to pink. I love them in this hand-thrown vase.

 

This bush grew from one of those gift pots you can buy at the grocery store. It didn’t bloom the year after I planted it, but now it’s four feet tall and just as wide.

This is my “Lady in Red”. She blooms late, but has these fantastic dark red stems. The leaves also turn red before they fall off in autumn. The red stems look great bare in the winter too.

  1. Susan
    July 23, 2012 at 00:30

    Tracy, you might like the oakleaf — it’s white, but showy, but its best quality is the smell. Heavenly.

    • July 23, 2012 at 04:57

      Are those the ones with the cone-shaped blooms? I think they can be trained into trees. It seems like I had one, but it didn’t survive a harsh freeze one winter. I also have a climbing hydrangea that’s pretty cool. It blooms in late spring, so I didn’t include it in this post.

  2. July 23, 2012 at 04:49

    Beautiful pictures! I love hydrangias, too. My mother had two hydrangia bushes by the house where I grew up. She loved her hydrangias – so they always remind me of her,

  3. Chris Schardein
    July 25, 2012 at 21:33

    You will always have great luck in Oregon with the hydrangias. Sadly they don’t like it very much in our hot dry months in Kentucky. Enjoy for me too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

