Home > Uncategorized > The Most Horrible Thing Ever

The Most Horrible Thing Ever

I dropped my smart phone in the toilet. I feel physically ill. I’m terrified. And I want to eat an entire chocolate cake all by myself.

If this has never happened to you it feels something like this:

My phone is submerged in dry rice right now. I’ll tell you more about that later. I’m embarrassed to admit I know exactly what to do if you drop a smart phone in water. I once dropped my iPhone in the bathtub while my geeky-smart husband was out of town so I had to figure out what to do on my own. I know what you are thinking. “She shouldn’t even be allowed to have a smart phone.” You are probably right. My husband knows exactly how whiny and despondent I’d be without my apps, so it’s clearly worth it to him.

Yes, I realize what a first-world problem this is, but can you imagine what would happen if all the smart phones in the US stopped working? We’d be a whiny mess.

So, this is What to Do If You Drop Your Smart Phone in Water.

  1. Open it up, remove the battery and SIM card, dry everything with a towel.
  2. Submerge the phone and battery in a bowl of dry, uncooked rice.
  3. Walk away for 48 hours*
  4. Try turning it on again 48 hours later. If you are lucky and it didn’t get too wet, it just may work again.

*This is the hardest part. Seriously, step away. Don’t peek. Don’t turn it on to see how it’s doing. If you experience heart palpitations call 911. I suggest watching movies continuously for 48 hours to distract you from the situation. I know, it feels like a loved one is in the ICU. Just let the rice do it’s job and stay out of the way.

  1. Susan
    July 26, 2012 at 00:49

    Poor dear — I misplaced my cellphone at a Salato event, but then found it — and someone said, “Oh, I see you found your phone,” and Brent said, “Yeah, in a museum!” We’ve been using the same cellphones since 20… Okay… I think… 2004 or 2005. We are such relics. I hope it works just fine for you Sweetie. 🙂

  2. July 26, 2012 at 03:28

    At First I read that you had your phone in dry ice; I’m glad you mentioned a second time that you put it in dry Rice. I’m glad to have that information as that could very well happen to me one day. Let us know how it all comes out. Good Luck! 🙂

  3. July 26, 2012 at 17:35

    Oh no! A roommate once spilled on my laptop and destroyed it, and I’ve been paranoid about electronics being near liquids (and my laptop being near other people) ever since! I hope your phone survives.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

