Home > Uncategorized > Comfort Food: Roasted Vegetables

Comfort Food: Roasted Vegetables

I love roasted vegetables any time of year. Somehow, colder temperatures really beg for roasting and I’ve answered the call. I made an entire meal of roasted veggies tonight. Years ago my husband and I giggled at the concept of “slow food” but now I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This is prime season for Brussels sprouts. I’m seeing them everywhere on-the-stalk and have been toying with the idea of trying this Trader Joes recipe. The stalk continues to feed them and keeps them fresh. It looks a bit weird  but totally worth it. They break off easily then you can trim them. I always cut them in half before roasting. I use a bit of olive oil or canola spray, fresh ground garlic sea salt, and fresh ground pepper and roast at 350 for about 20 minutes.

I first tried Brussels sprouts about four years ago in a restaurant. The menu described them as “sauteed in butter with bacon”. I figured butter and bacon could make even cardboard taste great so I’d give it a try. I was in love. I tried to replicate the dish at home and nearly succeeded. I’ve found over time that roasting is just as good, and frankly, easier.

I usually give potatoes the same oil/garlic sea salt/pepper treatment at 350 for about an hour, depending on how small I cut them. I also like to add fresh rosemary to them.

Some other favorite roasting combos:

  • Brocolini, red peppers, and mushrooms
  • Asparagus in butter, sea salt, and pepper with mushrooms
  • Mixed red- and sweet potatoes
  • Green beans and mushrooms and/or sliced almonds
  • Sausage, onions, peppers, and potatoes

What are your favorites?

  1. November 11, 2012 at 07:39

    I’ll bet zuchini sliced up and fixed that way would be good, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

