Home > Uncategorized > Rockets Hit Tel Aviv

Rockets Hit Tel Aviv

I keep up with Israeli news mainly via the BBC. Wednesday afternoon I’d heard about escalating rocket fire coming from Gaza. I didn’t think much about it until I saw a Facebook post from a friend indicating the air raid sirens sounded in Tel Aviv. That was completely unheard of while I was living in Israel. Ashkelon yes, but not Tel Aviv.

I literally have chills as I write this. The BBC reported sirens in neighborhoods where my friends live. Sirens that had only been used for test drills or on national Memorial days for the last 20 years. I hope they can find a way to end this soon. I won’t address the politics of it because I just don’t feel qualified to do that. There’s just nothing like knowing people you care about are in real danger.

When I think of Tel Aviv I want to think of paddling with my dragon boat team on the Yarkon, going out to dinner with friends, being invited for Shabbot, my kite nearly missing a paraglider… Right now I cringe at the images that are coming from my one-time temporary home. These are the images (and the people) I keep in my heart:

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. November 16, 2012 at 03:35

    Oh no! I know from what little I heard that this was a terrible situation. How I wish these wars would stop. There’s enough room on this planet for everybody. Thanks for writing about this and passing it along.

  2. Chris Schardein
    November 16, 2012 at 14:04

    We saw it in the paper today. We’ll keep them in our prayers.

  3. Susan
    November 16, 2012 at 14:09

    Very nice Tracy. I think most of us are like you — confused and worried.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

