Home > Uncategorized > When Conservatives Tell Me to “Just deal with it.”

When Conservatives Tell Me to “Just deal with it.”

An invitation:

I’ve summed up my strategy of staying politically positive by being firm on issues and compassionate with people. I’m not “shoulding-on” anyone else. I’m just sharing my plan with an invitation to join me if you’d like.

 

First I want to get a few things straight:

  1. I’d like to preface that I’m the wrong generation to be a “snowflake”. Even so, I think it’s a dismissive and derogatory term. A few folks may actually earn it, but they aren’t all millennials, and they certainly aren’t all liberals or progressives.
  2. I understand that the Electoral College fulfilled it’s obligation to vote as directed and we have a new President. When I see that “Not MY President” sign, I think “That’s right, he’s OUR President now. Let’s hold him accountable to his responsibilities to the office.”
  3. I have no interest in name calling, body shaming, hyperbole, or drama.

That being said, let’s get back to the advice I seem to be getting lately:

 

“Deal with it like we did for eight years!”

This is what I think they mean based on some of the bad behavior that I remember from folks who were upset about having Obama as president, and how we could avoid that this time:

  1. Demand documentation that proves the sitting president is eligible for the job.
    Done! I asked President Trump to release his tax returns (FYI: Pence released his) and divest from his business interests to avoid the perception of and actual conflicts of interest. Your move, Mr. President.
  2. Block the sitting President from making progress on fulfilling his campaign promises.
    Writing and calling my representatives is the first step. Even though I have high trust in Suzanne Bonamici, Ron Wyden,  and Jeff Merkely to represent fairly and equitably, it’s clear that throwing around money (as wasteful as it can seem sometimes) is how things get done. Conservatives are throwing in their money. We have to do our part too. My charitable giving strategy for this year includes:
    International: International Rescue Committee
    National: The American Civil Liberties UnionThe Obama Foundation
    Local: Planned Parenthood Columbia Willamette, Oregon Public Broadcasting
    Reality check: I know not everyone has money to throw around, and you might not think your $5 will do much, but consider this: What if every person who voted for Hillary Clinton picked three charities they wanted to support and gave them each $1? Each of those organizations would receive an extra $67 billion dollars this year. That’s ~$200 billion dollars out there working for us. Send the $5 and know it does make a difference.
  3. Burn an effigy of the sitting president.
    Yeah… I’m not really into simulated murder. I’m not a flag burner either. I do like s’mores, though. How ’bout I just put on my pink pussyhat and start writing some checks. (See #2) Who am I kidding? No one writes checks anymore. I want those credit card points. What? Points are good…
  4. Berate the President and his family.
    That’s a big tall glass of nope!
    A. I’m a bigger fan of “going high,” not low. If I condemn body shaming of women, I can’t condone shaming President Trump for his hair/skin color or he size of his hands.
    B. Nobody deserves to be trolled, especially a child. I absolutely don’t condone speculation about Barron Trump having special needs or shaming him for being awkward. He’s a kid who certainly didn’t choose this for himself. If his mother chooses to keep him home to avoid interrupting his routine, good for her. I’m glad she’s putting her child first and being a mom before being FLOTUS.
    C. It’s patently unfair and unclassy. and if I’m anything, it’s classy. 😉
    D. How can I expect anyone to take me seriously if I’m acting like a troll? I’ll attack unfair and unwise policy, horrible cabinet nominations, and  infringement of the constitution… but not the comb-over. I’ll leave the satire to SNL. They’re better at it anyway.

So take a deep breath everyone. You got this. Decide what is important to you and support the hell out of it. (Yes, even if you are a conservative. It’s your country too.)

Most importantly, I’d challenge you to be firm in your beliefs and compassionate with people. Be heard. Be classy.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. William Harkins
    January 31, 2017 at 19:45

    Not sure why you sent this to me but I am not going to comment in the interest of our father/daughter relationship. Except that Mr. Trump is certainly more qualified than any Clinton or Obama that has held the presidency or that might seek it.

    I love you

    Dad

    On Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 3:04 AM, Snowtracks in the Desert wrote:

    > thross posted: “First I want to get a few things straight: I’d like to > preface that I’m the wrong generation to be a “snowflake”. Even so, I > think it’s a dismissive and derogatory term. A few folks may actually earn > it, but they aren’t all millennials, and they certain” >

    • January 31, 2017 at 21:49

      I didn’t send it to you. You received it because you subscribed to my blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

